Worship

3/8

  Today was our first day of work. This is a little of what our days would look like. Breakfast, work at 8, play with the little ones from 10-10:30, work until lunch, then go back to work until 5, dinner, hang out with the older girls, and then sleep. A few of us worked on painting the girls houses. We did two rooms today, one we painted blue and the other we painted peach. Sometimes this wears me out because of all the going. I have to remind myself that I am working for God, not for men, working hard to bring glory to Him.

For dinner the girls had us over at their casas. This was a turn of events for me. Building relationships with these girls had been tougher than I thought, but God brought me to my knees and revealed things in my life, and motives for things. He brought me down to the point that the only thing left to do was to rely on Him. Well once you bring things into His hands they are put together. Going to this dinner I had no expectations, motives, etc. But God did, it was the first time I started feeling close to these girls. Before dinner we were in their living room dancing, goofing off, and having a good time. I felt that I started connecting with these girls. At dinner, I tried communicating with my limited Spanish and their limited English, but it worked. Praise God for His provision in my life, He knew what He was doing and called me to have faith and trust in Him.

Then we had worship. The girls made up a dance for us and the older girls sang for us, it was so beautiful. One of the girls on our trip is a worship leader for the BCM. She sang a few songs in English. One of my favorites was “Hosanna”, I don’t know how well the girls knew the song, but when it came to the repetition of Hosanna, they all sang out. Fifty Guatemalan girls sing out their hearts to our Savior and Lord, it’s a beautiful site to see. It almost brought me to tears. Then one of the older girls talked about the impact the groups have on their lives, that we spend our spring break to serve and love on them. Thank you God for this wonderful and blessed day.


Leave a comment