Joy

3/11

  Tonight was the ending celebration. We celebrated the girls’ birthdays that were in February and March. There was cake, a pinata, candy, pizza, dancing, signing of shirts, etc. It was a bittersweet moment, sweet to be celebrate with them, but bitter because we would be leaving them soon.

One thing that has stuck out to me is the joy these girls have through their circumstances. We came here to serve them, yet they still served us. One of the little girls that I got close to was named Karen. I sat next to her during dinner. We had cake for dessert that night. I stood up to go and get some cake, but Karen wouldn’t let me get up and get my own plate, she went and got it for me. She forgot the fork, so I decided to get up and find a fork. She made me sit back down, so that she could find a fork for me. Then when I tried to clean up my plate, she wouldn’t let me and cleaned it up for me. Karen is 8 years old, yes 8. We can learn so much from children! Then these little girls were taking down the tables, chairs, cleaning, etc. We are called to serve, not to be served.

As I said, there was a pinata at the party. The girls were so excited. We all went outside, as each of the birthday girls took turns hitting the pinata. When all the candy was on the ground all the girls dove for the candy. They are not use to getting candy. They probably only get candy once every two months. Each girl had about a handful of candy, but they still shared with us! God I want this kind of joy and faith. It reminds me of how God calls us to give no matter what, even if you are a “poor” college student (Mark 12: 41-44). He has blessed me, so I should give back with the blessings I have. Think about all that God has blessed you with, thank Him, and give back.


One response to “Joy

Leave a comment